5 Days to 2012 NaNoWriMo – Writer’s Block

I’m a little late on today’s post. I sat here in front of the computer for hours and didn’t type a single word. I couldn’t think of what to write about. Is that what they call “writer’s block”?

Okay, so that’s not entirely true. I didn’t sit for hours not knowing what to write about. I knew exactly what I wanted to write about today – writer’s block.

What exactly is it and what causes it? I’ve heard a lot of different things. My excuse used to be that I just didn’t have anything to write about or I didn’t know what to write about.

But it wasn’t until this week that I realized the cause of my so-called writer’s block. As I sat in front of my computer screen, wanting to write, knowing what I wanted to write about and nothing was on the screen, it finally came to me.

Fear.

Afraid that what I’m writing won’t be good enough. Afraid that no one will care about what I’m writing. Fear of getting my true feelings about something down on paper. What if someone sees it and looks at me differently?

I guess that’s why NaNoWrimo is such a good event. It gives you the opportunity to not worry if it’s good enough or not, just get it down.

Throw the inhibitions out the door.

Give that inner critic the month off…with or without pay.

Here’s to no more writer’s block,

Nyrobi

Leave a Reply

