2 Days to 2012 NaNoWriMo – Where’s the Inspiration

The nerves are starting to set in. I’m starting to get jittery. I hate feeling like I’m not prepared. But…I’m not prepared so it’s my own fault for feeling this way. Less than 48 hours left for the start of NaNo and I’m not prepared.

What does prepared mean to me? For one it’s having some idea of what my story for the month will be about. The last time I knew what my story was going to be about when starting NaNo, I reached my 50,000 word goal. The other times I went into it without a clue, I never finished. So do you see why it’s important for me to know? I want to finish this year.

I’m hoping that between now and Nov. 1 something will come to mind. A friend of mine told me to write about what I like to read. So does that mean I need to write a Christian fiction thriller murder mystery novel? Now that would be interesting. But I’m no James Patterson – although I love his writing.

It’s not like I don’t have any ideas. It’s more that I have too many. Maybe what I should do, since the point of NaNo is to just get it out of my head, is to start with all my ideas. Maybe eventually one of the ideas will stand out more than the other and that’s the one that will take off. Yeah, I think that’s what I’ll do.

On November 1, I will just start writing. Once upon a time….okay, not really.

But here’s a good look at the ideas that  inspired authors like J.R.R. Tolkien, E.B. White, C.S. Lewis and others.

If only!

Nyrobi

Leave a Reply

